06/20/2011 Ingrain Director Dr. Amos Nur receiving prestigious Maurice Ewing Award


Ingrain is proud to annouce that Dr. Amos Nur is being recognized with the Maurice Ewing Award, the Society of Exploration Geophysicist's most prestigious honor. croppednurfest2.png

The Maurice Ewing Medal is the highest award of the Society of the Exploration Geophysicists presented to a person who has made major contributions to the advancement of the science and profession of exploration geophysics.

Amos received his PhD in Geophysics from MIT in 1969 and has been a professor at Stanford University since 1970.  In addition to founding the Stanford Rock Physics project in 1977,  he has served as the Wayne Loel Professor of Earth Sciences since 1988.  Amos has served twice as a chairman of the Stanford Geophysics Department and between 2000 and 2005 as director of the Stanford University wide Overseas Studies Program.

Throughout his career,  Amos has conducted critical research in 3D and 4D seismic imaging and is widely considered to be one of the world's top academic authorities on rock physics. He has published over 240 papers including a dozen related to earthquakes and archaeology and several books.

Official recognition and presentation this major award will take place during the SEG's 2011 Annual Conference in San Antonio, TX, September 18-23.



Source: Society of Exploration Geophysicists

Nora Villarreal
Author: Nora Villarreal
Phone: (713) 993-9795
Fax: 713-993-9918